Miss G’s Swinging Sweatpants in class

The students looked surprised. “Who is this?” a student asked a peer as I walked into the classroom in my sweatpants, cap, face mask and sweater. I came in, sat unmotivated at the teachers’ table, grabbed my laptop and threw my backpack and coat on the table so that it looked like a wall. To make it even more extreme, I had put my feet on the chair next to it and sat down on my mobile. The students were not ready to wake up so early in the morning. “What are you trying to prove, Miss G?” one student asked. I looked at her with a pokerface and replied: ‘Why? This is normal, isn’t it? It’s good, isn’t it? Everyone wears this nowadays.’ I replied annoyingly back.

I asked class if anyone understood why I was doing this. One student commented: ‘because some of us do this too’. The classroom fell silent while I was still mimicking the worst things I have seen in the attitudes of students these days.

“Do I look good?” I asked. “No, not at all” they almost replied simultaneously. ‘That’s exactly what I’m talking about. A first impression is important because people mainly see our appearances.

What impression and attitude we want to show is in our hands. It ensures that your teachers, colleagues and customers treat you like a professional.’

What fun is learning when it is handled with humor. The experiment was a total success. I knew for sure the experiment was completed when I saw the students correct their own attitudes.

It takes a little of your time, one mirror, a lot of humor, a pair of sweatpants, a little acting and most importantly a good bond with your students.

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑