G’s McTravels: Hogmanay, Torches and a New Chapter

Long may yer lum leek!

May you never be without fuel for you fire!

This is a Scottish traditional Hogmanay greeting that the Scots say to wish you a good New Year’s Eve. Hogmanay is the Scottish word for this event.. What is different to the normal New Year’s Eve? How did this experience broaden my horizon? All is shared with you when you read along.

img_86464 hours before the clock strikes midnight. That’s when I came into town and saw men and women with  torches. From a distance they looked like stars in the cold December night. As if the fire in their hearts were literally in their own hands. This tradition was created as a charity event for the less fortunate to have more help. This year the charity went to cancer patients. Unfortunately as a student I could not afford to have a small torch, but nevertheless I enjoyed it as much as the people who had it. They walked from the famous Princes street up the hill to Edinburgh Castle. The sight brought me hope. Hope that next year I will continue on my journey of finding the meaning of Freedom and to encounter adventures with people who will going to change my view in life forever.

Time is going too fast, one hour left and I still didn’t decided where to watch the fireworks. The main street was closed off because the amazing Paulo Nutini was playing. Sadly tickets were sold out before you could blink your eyes twice. Nevertheless it was nice to hear him from a distance. We decided eventually to stand on the North bridge which had the view of the Dublin Castle on top of the mountain. It was an almost mystical view to behold. Sometimes these moments make you stop for a second and appreciate where life has taken you so far. Cannot wait for the surprises to come.

Only a few minutes left. The bridge became more crowded and everyone was trying to find a good spot. Sadly being shorter than most, I had to stand on my toes once in a while to see anything. Luckily being not tall also has its benefits because I could swiftly move to a better location.

Then it started. As a united group of people we yelled: 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1, HAPPY HOGMANAY! Couples started to kiss tenderly, friends started to drink on behalf of 2017 and the elders looked at each other affectionately. As fast as the crowd came, it also left the bridge. Some went home for others this was merely the beginning of their night.

2017, Hogmanay, Scotland. It was the beginning of a new chapter. A chapter I would like to share with the world in the form of these blogs. It has broadened my horizon in a way that I began to think and really believe that I actually can do everything that I dreamed of. You only have to make your dreams your goals.

img_8801

How this journey lead me to another adventure you will read in the next blog of G’s McTravels.

 

P.S.

There is a quote about Hogmanay that I read on that night that made me smile:

Haste ye back, we love you dearly,
Call again you’re welcome her.
May your days be free from sorrow,
And your friends be ever near.
May the paths o’er which you wander,
Be to you a joy each day.
Haste ye back we love you dearly,
Haste ye back on friendship’s way.’

Scotland might be a little country but it has a big heart.

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

